Central Board of Secondary Education

The Central Board of Secondary Education is the Board of Education for public and private schools under the Union Government of India. The first education board was set up in 1921 under the jurisdiction of Rajputana, Central India and Gwalior. In 1929, the Government of India set up a joint board and named as the Board of High School and Intermediate Education, Rajputana, including Ajmer, Merwara, Central India, and Gwalior. It was later in 1952 that the Board was amended and was given its present name ‘Central Board of Secondary Education’. The Delhi Board of Secondary Education was merged with the Central Board, including all the educational institutions recognized under Delhi Board under Central Board. From 309 schools in 1962, the Board today as 18006 schools, including 210 schools in 25 countries (as of September, 2016). At present there are 1113 Kendriya Vidyalayas, 2635 Government/aided schools, 13657 independent schools, 587 Jawahar Novodaya Vidyalayas, and 14 Central Tibetan Schools.
Regional offices set up by the Board in various parts of the country like, Allahabad, Ajmer, Bhubaneshwar, Chennai, Dehradun, Delhi, Guwahati, Panchkula, Patna, and Thiruvananthapuram helps with the efficient working of the Board. The schools outside India is managed by the regional office in Delhi.

The Central Board of Secondary Education conducts yearly exams for class 10 and 12 in the month of March. The results of the examinations are published during May, the same year.